11
Jul
11

what does a man among men get a mom among men for her 35th birthday?

A mom among men has had a year among years. My 35th year has challenged my mentally, emotionally, physically, financially and in all the other “ally” ways you could imagine. We have survived. In a few instances we have come out on top. Our children are healthy. The Mister is healthy. My various meds may be slowly leading me through the twin fogs of either migraineor depression. There are good days among the difficult. Part of what made this past year so trying was the fact that I am a perfectionist. I come from a fairly long line of genetically programmed perfectionists. I see no good reason why I can not do it all. It has always been expected of me and I have always done my best to see that it has been done. Most of the time it was me expecting it. Not all the time, but most of the time. I have never expected utter and complete perfection in others, just myself. I set an agenda for myself the past year. It looked something like this:

1. Get agent.

2. Get novel published.

3. Lose ten pounds.

4. Train and run half marathon faster than I did last year.

5. Get in kick ass shape.

6. Organize and clean out entire house.

7. Teach Big all his math facts.

8. Make Middle want to learn to read and then teach him.

9. Potty train Little.

10. Get rid of daily migraines.

11. Balance antidepressants with anti-anxiety meds until I feel like a normal person feels.

12. Be a better friend by calling and emailing people back sooner.

Overwhelmed yet? Yea, me too. The problem wasn’t that these would all be awesome goals to accomplish in like TEN years, the problem was that I found nothing wrong with believing that I should be able to do them all yesterday. Instead of feeling better about myself, I felt worse. Shocking huh? Until I found this quote.

“she had not known the weight until she felt the freedom.”

Nathaniel Hawthorne

These were words that suddenly spoke to me. I cut them out of my mom’s old Weight Watcher’s Magazine and they became my mantra. I told the Mister that I wanted to get them tattooed on my arm, so I would never forget them, but we laughed about it because Houstin the guy who did my back tattoo likes BIG tattoos and both my arms and chest would be covered with that one sentence, but I was able to shorten my new mantra down to two words:

let go

Around my birthday I overheard the Mister making an appointment for me for a Sunday morning at 10 a.m. and then securing a babysitter for the same morning. He would tell me nothing but it was surprise. After reviewing all the possibilities I decided he either made an appointment for a couples massage or an appointment with Houstin for me to get a tattoo. I started scouring the internets to find inspiration. As the day got closer I started to panic, I saw nothing that looked anything like what I had been picturing on my left arm for the last several weeks. I could see it, I just couldn’t find it anywhere. I was thinking fairly delicate and feminine and scripty. You would (or maybe wouldn’t) be surprised what turns up when you google “girly tattoos”.

The day before the (surprise) tattoo appointment when the Mister was on his Father’s Day Fishing Trip,  I started having mini-panic attacks thinking about what would happen if I showed up empty-handed.

Houstin presents a sketch of dragon breathing fire with the words “let go” in it. Um. No

Houstin revises so the dragon’s open mouth has a kitten in it holding a banner with the words “let go” on it.  Wow. Um. Still. No.

Houstin goes back to the drawing board and comes back with a betty boop tattoo where letters across Betty’s massive bosom spells, “let go”. Interesting. Well… No.

*Houstin is actually a super talented artist and would never suggest any of the above which are only given in the spirit of comedy. Check out his work here: http://tailormadetattoo.com/?page_id=8.

Then I remembered that friends of ours through other friends of ours had just moved to the neighborhood and she, Emily, is a super talented graphic artist. I whizzed over to her website http://www.bluestarink.com/  and fell in love with her style and design and basically called her and begged her to design something for me. Little did I know that she had been approached to design tattoos before and always found a way out of it, but with me standing at her door with my sob story about Kitten breathing Dragons and stuff she couldn’t say no. She designed it. I loved it. The rest is history.

So. Happy 35th Birthday to me. I’m going to let go of this year and make way for a new better year. A year where I’m kinder to myself and focused on happy and healthy. Maybe if I’m lucky some of those other things will come along for the ride. If not, I’ll let them go.

Thank you Houstin and Emily!

Seriously, if you are looking for an awesome tattoo you want Houstin. http://tailormadetattoo.com/?page_id=8

If you are looking for amazing graphic design you want Emily http://www.bluestarink.com/illustration/

If you want the most adorable gift for babies and children you can find, you want a bluestar fuzzie http://www.etsy.com/shop/bluestarfuzzies

2 Responses to “what does a man among men get a mom among men for her 35th birthday?”


  1. July 11, 2011 at 1:56 am

    It’s really pretty, and of course I love the message. I just ordered my “downstream” necklace.

    Happy Birthday!

  2. 2 Linda Brown
    July 11, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    I love your tattoo and the message. Also, have been thinking of your quote. Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

now what’s that now?

what’s done is done


